logontutor

Polly B.

$25 Hourly

Passed Background Check
HAMPTON, VA 23669
  • Available online and in person
  • Willing to travel 15 miles


Polly's Bio & Tutoring Experience


I started tutoring at age 23. My first two students were six years old and needed help in phonics/reading. I was successful in helping to raise their reading and comprehension levels to meet and exceed the levels of their first-grade classmates. A few years later I was a coordinator of Project Light, a program designed to eliminate illiteracy. As a coordinator/tutor, I worked with people from ages three to 65. Some were illiterate with no educational background; others wanted help to catch up or to get ahead in school and/or the workplace. Also at Project Light, I worked with people who needed help to obtain their GED. My tutoring doesn't stop there. I also assisted the GED coordinator at the Veterans Hospital in Hampton, VA.

As a college instructor, I often made time to assist my students not only in the specific course subject matter, but also in other courses they took. I would often proofread their work and then give constructive tips for a better paper.

My warmth and presence make me stand out. I've often been told that I am very approachable. I value that. In order to successfully work with others, one has to be reachable; personable.

Polly's Expertise


Business: Communications, Public Speaking
English: Creative Writing, Grammar, Reading, Writing/Essay
History: US History, World History
Math: Arithmetic
Special Needs: Home School Tutoring
Study Skills: Homework Coach, Self Study, Study Skills, Time Management

Polly's Education & Certifications


I have a bachelors degree in History. I also have a M.A. degree in Communication

Polly's References


References available to members only

Polly's Availability


Day Date Time
Sunday 01/17/2021  
Monday 01/18/2021  
Tuesday 01/19/2021 5:30PM - 7:30PM 
Wednesday 01/20/2021 5:30PM - 7:30PM 
Thursday 01/21/2021 5:30PM - 7:30PM 
Friday 01/22/2021 5:30PM - 7:30PM 
Saturday 01/23/2021 2:00PM - 4:00PM