logontutor

Emily M.

$30 Hourly

Passed Background Check
HAMILTON, OH 45011
  • Available in person only
  • Willing to travel 10 miles


Emily's Bio & Tutoring Experience


I graduated in 2010 from the University of Dayton with my Early Childhood Education degree, 3 years to third grade, and Pre Kindergarten Special Needs Endorsement. I was a preschool special needs teacher for 4 years in a structured, language based classroom. My morning class was made up of a low number of students with higher special needs; autism, sensory disorders, severe speech and language delays, as well as ADHD. My afternoon class had both students with high needs, moderate needs, and students demonstrating challenging behaviors as well typically developing students.
This school year the district is moving me to be a Kindergarten teacher for students with more challenging behaviors. I student taught in a third grade gifted/inclusion classroom.

In college I tutored for home schooled twins that were in fourth grade. They needed help mastering their math facts, addition, subtraction, and multiplication. I provided fun, interactive lessons and games to help to practice these skills. I also reinforced some of the lessons that they were taught during the week that they did not completely grasp and master. I saw the girls once a week and would work with them one on one most of the time, but would also work with them together. I stopped working with them when they had a mastery of their skills and both their parents and I agreed that I was no longer needed.

I have also tutored a boy over the summer that had just finished his Kindergarten year and stayed with him as he transitioned into his first grade year. We worked on sight word recognition and reading fluency skills. He was an active boy, so I planned fun, active, and engaging lessons. I worked with him twice a week for shorter amounts of time, with movement breaks, as his attention span would not allow for long lessons. I stopped working with him when he mastered his Kindergarten sight words and was reading at grade level when entering first grade.

When working with students, either one on one or in a small group, lessons are planned according to the needs. These lessons are always engaging and developmentally appropriate based off of the needs and interest of the student(s).

Emily's Expertise


English: Grammar, Reading, Technical Writing , Writing/Essay, Creative Writing
Math: Math Word Problems, Topics, Logic, Geometry, Discrete Math, Arithmetic
Special Needs: Accommodations, ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), ADHD, Dyslexia, Home School Tutoring, Learning Disabilities, Special Education

Emily's Education & Certifications


I graduated in 2010 from the University of Dayton with my Early Childhood Education degree (3 years to third grade) and Pre Kindergarten Special Needs Endorsement.

Emily's References


References available to members only

Emily's Availability


Day Date Time
Sunday 11/29/2020  
Monday 11/30/2020  
Tuesday 12/01/2020  
Wednesday 12/02/2020  
Thursday 12/03/2020  
Friday 12/04/2020  
Saturday 12/05/2020