logontutor

Shailin O.

$12 Hourly

Background Check Ready
BESSEMER, AL 35023
  • Available online and in person
  • Willing to travel 5 miles


Shailin's Bio & Tutoring Experience


I was homeschooled from preschool through high school, and as part of my curriculum was required to assist younger homeschoolers with their studies in basic subjects such as English, math, and science. In addition, I was a longtime member of 4-H, and through that program taught many classes to younger members on broader subject such as sewing, agriculture, health, and more hands-on science projects. At 16 I began taking classes at my community college (Howard Community College in Maryland), and while there I often tutored my classmates in English, Psychology, and Japanese. I have never been paid for tutoring, but I know that I am capable of teaching, especially to elementary and middle-school students. When teaching, I believe that the most important principles are making sure the student learns the WHY behind the answers, rules, and formulas, and helping the student to learn critical thinking so that they can assess later questions on their own and successfully analyze them.

Shailin's Expertise


Business: Public Speaking, Economics
Computers: Microsoft Excel, Microsoft PowerPoint, Microsoft Word
English: Writing/Essay, Technical Writing , Reading, MLA Format, Literature, Grammar, Creative Writing, APA Format
Languages: English (US), Japanese, TESOL
Math: Algebra, Arithmetic, Logic, Math Word Problems, PreAlgebra, Topics
Science: Psychology, Physical Science, Environmental Studies, Geography
Special Needs: Accommodations, ADD (Attention Deficit Disorder), ADHD, Dyslexia, Home School Tutoring, Note Taker, Reader, Special Education, Student Helper
Standardized Tests: GED Mathematics, SAT Writing, SAT Math, SAT Language, GED Writing, GED Reading, Driver Exam (Written only by state)
Study Skills: Homework Coach, Organization, Project Management, Self Study, Study Skills, Study Tactics, Test Taking, Time Management

Shailin's Education & Certifications


I was homeschooled by a certified teacher up through high school. At 16 I enrolled part-time at my local community college, then later applied to four-year institutions. I am currently a rising sophomore at Sewanee: The University of the South, with a 3.75 GPA.

Shailin's References


References available to members only

Shailin's Availability


Day Date Time
Sunday 09/12/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Monday 09/13/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Tuesday 09/14/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Wednesday 09/15/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Thursday 09/16/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Friday 09/17/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM 
Saturday 09/18/2021 1:00PM - 2:00AM